Did you know that 20% of renters in America are behind on their payments? This is not something a landlord or property owner wants to hear.
However, there are ways to evict renters like this. Late payments are grounds for eviction but you have to go about the process legally.
Keep reading to learn how to evict a tenant at your Chattanooga, Tennessee rental property.
Post a Notice
The first step in how to evict a tenant in Tennessee is to post a notice. This gives the tenant time to correct the issue or vacate the premises. Renters cannot be evicted without notice.
The process of evicting a tenant can take around four to eight weeks depending on the grounds for eviction. Landlords can begin the eviction process for any of the following reasons:
- Nonpayment of rent
- Violation of rental agreement or lease terms
- End of lease term/no lease
- Safety violation
- Illegal activity
If a tenant remains on the property after the notice period expires, the property management can proceed with the eviction.
File and Serve a Complaint
Filing and serving a complaint to the appropriate court is the next step in evicting a tenant.
The sheriff constable can file the complaint. You can also give a copy to the tenant, post a copy on the rental unit, or mail a copy via certified mail.
Court Hearing and Judgment
An eviction hearing has to be held at least six days after the summons and complaint get served. Either party can request a 15-day postponement.
If the tenant does not come to the hearing, the judgment will fall in favor of the landlord and the tenant will have to move out.
If the judge rules in favor of the landlord, a writ of possession is issued and the eviction process continues. If tenants file an appeal, the eviction process takes longer.
Writ of Possession Issuing
The writ of possession is the final notice to the tenant to move out of the rental unit. This gives the tenants the opportunity to remove their belongings before law officials forcibly remove them.
The writ of possession gets issued 10 days after the ruling in favor of the landlord. Tenants can file an appeal before the 10 days if they wish.
Possession of Property
Once law enforcement receives the writ of possession, they can remove tenants from the rental unit. Under Tennessee eviction laws, there is no grace period so tenants might be immediately removed.
A tenant has to move out as soon as possible once they receive the writ of possession.
How to Evict a Tenant in Tennessee
Knowing how to evict a tenant at your Chattanooga, TN property can help you through the process legally.
You'll first need to post a notice that allows the tenant to correct their issue. If they fail to comply, a complaint is filed and served. There is a court hearing where a judge will decide who to rule in favor of.
If the judge rules in favor of the landlord, the writ of possession is issued and the tenant must leave.
For help with finding new tenants, hire property management services! Contact us now to learn how we can help.